Architecture

Architecture — the embodiment of beauty

Hidden within the forest of words and poetry

One draws nearer with each step,

Gradually, its face becomes clear

The black and white release energy in purity

Only in the moment that it is gazed upon

Does it reveal its form

The AUO Micro Gallery was designed with idea that architecture should coexist harmoniously with nature. The outer appearance of the structure blends in naturally with the surrounding pristine forest, while the lush woods and flourishing ecology of Houli Forest Park are kept as much as possible in their original state. The modest simplicity of the museum building allows it to become one with nature, an echo of its exhibition theme—pollen, a little thing that most people rarely notice in their daily lives. If specks of pollen are the seeds of beauty, then the AUO Micro Gallery is the embodiment of beauty itself, hidden within the woods, and an expression of our synergy with nature.

微美館建築 1 1029
建築 2
建築 1

The perfect meld of nature and architecture

AUO Micro Gallery encompasses two exhibition spaces that have different atmospheres, one light and one dark. The “dark” exhibition room has no pillars, creating a simple, open space with a direct line of sight to everything on display. The light exhibition room draws in natural light through large floor-to-ceiling windows, and has a view of the forest so that the indoors displays reflect the outdoor scenery. The outdoor garden attached to the main building features grilles that blend the garden into the surrounding greenery.

The building is in a calming, subdued gray that emphasizes the simplistic lines of the building materials. Under different light angles, the building shows subtle changes of light and shadow and rich gradients of color. Greenery, light and shadow, purity, subtlety, and calm; the AUO Micro Gallery’s many faces are a perfect source of enjoyment and wonder.

微美館建築 A 1029
微美館建築 B 1029

Realizing sustainability through subtraction design

The architecture of AUO Micro Gallery is based upon the principle of subtraction design, which is to lower the amount of unnecessary decoration and use green building materials and construction methods to implement the 3Rs (reduce, reuse, and recycle).

After the Taichung Flora Expo ends, AUO will dismantle the gallery and reuse the building materials to construct an environmental education facility on the grounds of AUO’s fab in Central Taiwan Science Park, thereby upholding the spirit of environmental sustainability.

微美館建築

建築 — 美的化身

隱匿在詩語樹林間

徐步緩近

面貌逐漸清晰

黑與白在純粹中釋放能量

只有在被凝視的瞬間

才會展現它的姿態

友達微美館的設計理念為讓建築與自然和諧共存,將后里森林園區基地內豐富的樹木、生態盡量保留,外觀與周遭的原始林相巧妙融合。低調、樸實、與自然合一的微美館建築,呼應了展示主題-一般人在生活中不易察覺的「花粉」。若視花粉為美的種子,微美館則猶如隱匿於樹林間美的化身,傳達著與自然兼容並蓄的精神。

微美館建築 1 1029
建築 2
建築 1

建築與自然的完美融合

友達微美館構築了一明一暗不同氛圍的展示空間,暗室展廳無柱化的設計,創造簡潔直觀及開闊的空間感。亮室以大片穿透的落地窗為建築引入自然光線及森林景觀,讓室內展示與戶外景致相互呼應。與主體建物連結的戶外庭園,則利用格柵設計延伸周遭樹景。

建物以沈穩低調的灰色為主體,強調建材本質的簡約線條,在陽光不同的照射角度下,呈現出細膩的光影變化及豐富的色調層次。綠意、光影、純粹、低調、沉穩,友達微美館建築呈現的是耐人尋味的多樣面貌。

微美館建築 A 1029
微美館建築 B 1029

減法設計實踐綠色永續理念

友達微美館建築強調減法設計,降低不必要的裝飾設計,大量使用環保建材及工法,落實3Rs(Reduce減量、Reuse重複利用、Recycle回收使用)的理念。

友達也將於花博展期結束後,將微美館拆除下來的建材於友達中科廠區進行異地重建,重新規劃成環境教育場所,延續環境永續精神。